Date posted: 8/7/2013 10:00:59 AM

Top Fuel veteran Bobby Lagana Jr. has already said that he and the "Nitro Ninja" team will be looking for their fastest run in more than a decade of nitro racing and, in the process, hope to challenge Clay Millican's elapsed time mark of 4.484 seconds set in 2005.

Jay Turner and Ron Maroney will also be looking to set new marks in their respective classes at the Martin, Michigan track, the only difference with them is that they have already surpassed their numbers once.

Just two weeks ago Ron Maroney made one of the fastest Fuel Altered passes in IHRA history at Grand Bend at 5.935 seconds at 236.13 mph, but he couldn't back it up. The same goes for Jay Turner who earlier this year knocked on the door of the Nitro Harley record at over 228 miles per hour on the back of a motorcycle, but he too couldn't reproduce the numbers.

Throw in Mike Minick's incredible passes at Grand Bend and all four nitro classes could be pushing on the door of new records in IHRA's Nitro Jam series this weekend.